AquaTT Awards

At AquaTT, we believe it is important to acknowledge the endeavours individuals go to in their contributions to the area of marine research.

We have established two awards with this in mind, in honour of immensely talented researchers who played an important role in our story.


Lindsay Laird Award

This award, named after the eponymous Scottish aquaculture pioneer who sadly passed away in 2001, is given to the student with the most innovative poster concerning research from a number of aquaculture-related areas.

2019 winner:

Nicola Rhyner, Zurich University of Applied Sciences

Assessing microsatellite markers to assess post-stocking survival of hatchery-reared Atlantic trout (Salmo trutta) in tributaries of a pre-alpine lake"

Learn more about the award and view past winners


Richard Fitzgerald Award

Richard was a founding father of AquaTT, acting as the company's first chairman and serving on the board regularly for 20 years. He passed away shortly before Christmas 2016. To commemorate the life and legacy, this award was established for best student poster in Aquatic Environment research. 

2024 winner: 

Alexander Savelev (DCU)

Detection of PMT Chemicals in Environmental Samples via SPE and HPLC Analysis.

Learn more about the award and view past winners